District of Columbia Architecture Continuing Education Requirements

Micène Fontaine, March 31, 2020

Flag_Map_of_Washington_DC.pngThe District of Columbia Board of Architecture and Interior Design requires DC-licensed architects to complete 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years.

  • CE Requirement:  24 Professional Development Units (PDUs) every 2 years.  All 24 credits must qualify as HSW (Health, Safety & Welfare) credits.
  • Renewal Deadline: April 30 of even-numbered years.
  • CE Cycle: Credits must be earned in the 2-year period immediately preceding the license renewal date. For example, credits earned between May 1, 2016 and April 30, 2018 will count towards your April 2018 renewal.
  • Acceptable Coursework: Continuing education courses must be AIA approved under the HSW (Health, Safety, and Welfare) designation. Final discretion is up to the Board. 
  • Reporting of Credits:  Providers CANNOT report continuing education credits earned to the Board. Licensees must be prepared to submit documentation (e.g. a transcript or certificates from the course providers).
  • Carry-over of credits: Not permitted.
Source: District of Columbia Board of Architecture and Interior Design

Please post your comments or questions in the comments section below or contact Design Arts Seminars, Inc. 

           NEVER STOP LEARNING            

:CEUMandatory Continuing Education RequirementsDC Board of Architecture and Interior DesignArchitecture Continuing Education Requirements


Architecture CE Requirements

Interior Design CE Requirements

Never Stop Learning



50% Complete

Join thousands of design professionals who receive our curated content.